top of page

8 Things to Pack & 4 to Leave at Home

I myself am a chronic over-packer, I'd like to believe it's hereditary (thanks mom), but I'd be lying to myself. I almost can't help it. I have my set list and I promise myself I'll stick to it, check off all my little hand drawn boxes, limit my liquids! I to want to follow all of those graphically pleasing Pinterest posts filled with nude colors and practical shoes telling me to "pack light" or be "modern."

Lets be realistic: It's hard to let go of the extra things. Your favorite jacket(s), the pair of heels your sure you're going to wear, all of the necessities.

Feel free to bring a comfort item -- in fact I'll even list a few -- just keep in mind the room you'll wish you had once you find the perfect suvonyier for grandpa, or the bags of dried pasta from Italy. I've tried the "giant suitcase" cross country, not only was it uncomfortable but it also screamed "Tourist! Easy target!". Imagine lugging a suitcase bigger than you through international airports.

The above GIF is wholly accurate. With that in mind let me provide you with a few things you should fill your suitcase with -- and a few you should leave at home.

Must Haves:

1. SUNGLASSES & HAT

On my 1 week journey to build houses in Belize guess what I forgot! Yep, sunglasses. I can still feel my corneas melting one year later. Of course if you're going to Barcelona, Italy, or London you have the ability to hop on the metro and stroll to the nearest store, or even buy them in the airport. Keep in mind that you may pay more than what you could buy at you friendly local drug store.

2. PADLOCK

If you're not taking the opportunity to travel to other must see European destinations while abroad you're not doing this whole travel thing right. On your adventures a padlock for your luggage, backpack, and hostel locker will most definitely come in handy. On the same hostel note...

3. FLIP FLOPS

Foot fungus in Rome never stays in Rome. Do you really want to find out how many germs are on the shower floor of the hostel, or cheep hotel, you're staying at? If not I recommend cheep rubber flip flops for all of your shower needs. They also double as spider killers and fly swatters.

4. WATER BOTTLE I feel like this item should be self explanatory. It also doubles as a handy storage container for medicine, chargers or the little stuff you find at the bottom of your carryon while in the airport.

5. CLOTH BAG

Dirty laundry and clean laundry should not mix, why make life harder?

6. TRAVEL JOURNAL

Even for the non-artistic types you will be grateful you brought along a journal for your adventures. Mine has gone from Belize (to lost on the plane from Belize) to Israel and soon the Barcelona. It's a great way to save tickets, press flowers you find, and hodgepodge a scrapbook to your hearts content!

7. PLASIC BAGS & MINI SEWING KIT

Thank you mom for this good habit. Plastic bags are to travel as duct tape is to repairs. They're the catchall to life. Need something to put your nasty shower sandals in? Plastic bag. Wet bathing suit? Plastic bag. Dirty tennis shoes? Plastic bag. Murder weapon? Plastic bag.

Mini sewing kits also come in handy for impromptu international murders.

8. MEMENTOS

That one picture you have of Aunt Martha surrounded by her twelve cats? What a great conversation starter and a wonderful reminder of home. What better way to feel at home than picture of friends, family, and crazy relatives?

Just Leave it at Home:

1. FANCY CLOTHES & SHOES

London's cobble stone streets are not made for heels. Also consider the absolute lack of formal events you'll be attending: no time for galas when you're exploring the backstreets of Budapest.

2. THINGS YOU NEVER WEAR

If you think you're going to start new habits in a different country, like an early morning jog, you are mistaken. If anything you'll sink deeper into the cushion of your familiar day to day habits. Leave the once worn running shoes in the closet. I put a 2 month limit on all clothing and shoes.

3. YOUR ENTIRE MAKEUP KIT

There is no time for makeup when you're exploring the world! One of my very well traveled friends from High School stopped wearing makeup completely after a few weeks of travel. You can follow her here: It will not only make you look more natural but will allow your skin time to rest from the regular routien. Leave the foundation and stick with the bare minimum -- you'll thank me when someone bumps you into the Trevi Fountain.

4. NO FLAGS

Leave the American flag tee shirt at home. If anything buy a Canadian one -- everyone likes Justin Trudeau.

Remember to enjoy your travels. If you really want to bring that American flag ball cap go for it. (I still recommend some Trudeau bling).

-Alex

bottom of page